top of page

Limbs of Yoga

The 8 Limbs of Yoga are Corrections and Guard Rails for Practice 

Many texts of the Yoga tradition have a list of limbs or implementations of Yoga. The famous list, the Eight Limbs of Yoga is from Patañjali’s Yoga Sūtra. 

The List is: 

  1. yama

  2. niyama

  3. āsana

  4. prāṇāyāma

  5. pratyāhāra

  6. dhāraṇā 

  7. dhyāna

  8. samādhi

bottom of page